County Commissioners

Regular Meetings

  • 5:00pm
  • Twice a month
  • Commissioners office at:
    300 E Main Street
    Room 103
    Madison, Indiana 47250

For a complete list, view the 2021 Commissioners Meetings (PDF)

If you would like to be placed on an agenda for an upcoming meeting, please submit an Agenda Request Form.

View Meetings Online 

All Commissioner meetings are recorded by Madison TV15. .

View Most Recent Agenda | View  all Board of Commissioners Agendas

May 2021

Su M Tu W Th F Sa
25 26 27 28 29 30 1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31 1 2 3 4 5
View All

Public Notice:

Jefferson County Commissioners are seeking $250,000 in OCRA grant funds for the intention/purpose of establishing a Revolving Loan Fund (RLF) Program for Jefferson County businesses with at least 51% or more employees that qualify as low-to-moderate income person(s) within the county limits.  This request is an economic development proposal that requires no displacement.  

2nd Public Hearing Notice:

Jefferson County is seeking grant funding from OCRA's COVID-19 Response program which is funded through Indiana’s Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) program. The total amount available for this grant is $250,000.  Jefferson County Commissioners will be using these funds for their Revolving Loan Fund (RLF) Program.  The goal of the RLF Program is to assist businesses that have been negatively impacted by the COVID-19 Pandemic.  Businesses must be up to date on their taxes, employ low-to-moderate income persons, and the business must reside within Jefferson County.  This request is an economic development proposal that requires no displacement.  OCRA requests that Jefferson County prioritize businesses that are owned by veterans, minorities, and/or women.   The Jefferson County Commissioners will be requesting that funds from their budget be used as matching funds with the permission of the Jefferson County Council. For more information please attend the Public Hearing on March 18, 2021, at 5 pm in the Jefferson County Commissioners’ Office located at 300 E Main Street Room # 103, Madison, IN 47250, or contact Erica at 812-274-3839.


The three-member Jefferson County Board of Commissioners serves as both the executive and legislative branches of County government. While they are required to reside within their specific geographic districts, the County Commissioners are elected at-large by Jefferson County voters.

What We Do

  • Receive bids for projects and services
  • Authorize all claims on County budgets
  • Decision-making authority over planning and zoning within the County
  • Issue bonds or approve lease-purchase agreements for the County
  • Establish ordinances
  • Control,maintain and supervise County property
  • Oversee the operations of the County Highway Garage in regards to construction and maintenance of roads and bridges
  • Develop economic development programs to attract and retain jobs in theCounty
  • Grant vacation pay, sick leave, paid holidays and other similar benefits to County employees
  • Receive bids and authorize contracts
  • Exercise appointing powers including both the selection of members to fill positions on 
    • Boards
    • Commissions and committees
    • Appoint certain department heads


  • Robert Little
    Middle District - Madison Township
  • David Bramer, President
    Lower District - Smyrna, Graham, Republican, Hanover and Saluda Townships
  • Ron Lee
    Upper District - Shelby, Milton, Monroe and Lancaster Townships

Click Here to view a map of the Commissioner Districts by Township